Congratulations to the 2017 IAC Award Winners!

03 Dec 2017 10:30 AM | Anonymous

By Heather Nachtmann, Ph.D., ASEM Past President

It was a pleasure to lead the 2017 ASEM award process.  It is humbling and exciting to see the contributions our members are making to the engineering management community.  Through my ASEM executive committee service, I get the opportunity to work with members of our leadership team as they dedicate their time to ASEM.  What I do not get to see is their careers and their investments in the broad EM community outside of ASEM.  Each year I am impressed with our nominees and winners of our Engineering Management of the Year award, and this year’s recipient NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Director Todd May clearly exemplified the great work one can accomplish when one brings engineering management skills to a leadership position.  I am always so proud when I review the nomination packets of our ASEM Fellows and get to see the contributions our new Fellows are making and have made to their employers and communities.  Also of particular note is the accomplishments of our students.  Each year the best student paper and best dissertation competitions become increasingly competitive and it is impressed to see the quality of student our EM programs are producing.  We are very proud of all the 2017 ASEM award winners and are pleased to have this opportunity to recognize their efforts.

Congratulations to the ASEM 2017 Award Winners!

Bernard R. Sarchet Award

  • Ben Baliga

Frank Woodbury Special Service Award

  • Jimmy Ghandi
  • John Farr

Meritorious Service Awards

  • New Member Recruiting:  He Liu
  • Outstanding Non-Board Member: Jishan He

Best Dissertation Award

  • Michael Bromley, Texas Tech University; Advisor,  for "A Synopsis of Economic Analysis Model for High Reliability Organizations"

ASEM Fellows

  • Harold Conner
  • Rolf Jostad
  • Walter Nowocin
  • William Schell

Merritt Williamson Best IAC Paper 

  • "Are Engineers’ Leadership Attitudes and Experiences Different than Other Students?" by Bill Schell and Bryce Hughes from Montana State University

Founder's Awards

  • Student Chapter Award - Missouri S&T
  • Undergraduate Award- US Military Academy
  • Graduate Award - Missouri S&T

Merl Baker for Best IAC Student Paper sponsored by MS&T

  • "Energy Sans Water" by Jonathan D. Elder from Texas Tech University

Echenbach Award for Best EMJ Paper

  • "An Enterprise-Wide Knowledge Management Approach to Project Management' by Oun, Blackburn, Olson, and Blessner

William Daughton World Headquarters Service Award

  •  Jim Schreiner
  • Tricia Simo Kush
  • Teresa Jurgens-Kowal
  • Bill Sabados

ASEM Undergraduate Student Scholarship  in honor of Ronald Cox

  • Sarah Godbehere, Gonzaga University

ASEM Graduate Student Scholarship in honor of Joette Sonnenberg

  • Katie Kelly, Montana State University
Student Case Competition
  • Missouri S&T, Advisor Dincer Konur
Past-President Award
  • Heather Nachtmann

Click logo below to visit ASEM's proud sponsors:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software